Web Perspectives

April 27, 2010

Beginnings

Filed under: Uncategorized — dberch @ 6:14 pm

Everything starts somewhere.

If you’re anything like me, and love multitasking, the thrill of six thousand multicolored balls in the air, then you know that eerie sense that you’ve skipped the beginning and mired yourself somewhere in the middle.

I keep telling myself, you’re not going to get anywhere until you get organized.  Step 1?  Make a list and decide on the steps.

So what’s this project after all?

Good question.

Here’s the task at hand:
(should I choose to accept it.  Oh wait, too late, can’t back out now!)

Design a website, from start to finish, without needing too much help from my talented web-savvy friends and my amazing self-starter little brother (shout out – he’s the founder/designer of http://www.megasitesdesign.com and http://www.thecashgrab.com).  Start with a strategy and systematically optimize the website.  Throw everything I know about social networking into this website, and see if I can make it float.  Using Google Analytics, see if I can get real results – and blog about it every step of the way.  This is a journey, an exploration, a test.

Right.  So what have I accomplished so far?  Well…I’ve figured out that I’m no web designer just yet.  Div tags and tables and positioning and colored borders and classes and headers and AAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!  ::deep breath::

Ok, it’s not that bad.  I’ve requested the help of a few talented friends and relations to work on ideas for my logo/banner.  I’ve set up google analytics and I have it working.  A filler page is up.  Take a look!  www.winsomewatches.com

Oh yeah, introductions to my website…

So what’s the point of this site anyway?  Well, one of my hobbies is beadwork.  A coworker gave me the idea of beading designer watches.  Fun, stylish, comfortable – you could have one to go with every outfit!  So that’s the intention of this new website: to display my watches and maybe try to sell a few.

Any comments/suggestions/helpful resources, etc. would be extremely appreciated.  There’s a big huge community of people out there just like me – the creative self-starters who just want to know more and more and more and then try it for ourselves.  I want to hear your stories!  What worked?  What definitely didn’t?  How did you know?

Thanks for all the support!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

