Web Perspectives

May 20, 2010

WinsomeWatches, Wireframes and Web Design

Filed under: Web Design,WinsomeWatches — dberch @ 11:54 am
Tags: , ,

Normally, at the beginning of my day I come up with a topic to focus my social media energies.

We documented the trip to Ireland, amusingly, through the eyes of a teddy bear we named Terence - pictured here with Molly Malone

When you’re following as many blogs and twitterers as I like to, it helps to have a goal.  Particularly if the goal is a little wacky, far-fetched, and creative.  I once traveled to Ireland and took with me the goal of finding, as a gift for a friend, a leprechaun in a vase and a leprechaun in a sack.  :o)

Today I’m working on two projects – researching good examples of business online response strategies, and continuing to learn CSS to build the website for my watch company.

The watches featured are designed for those of us women who tend to like to know what time it is without reaching for our cellphones.  We don’t want to spend a fortune on designer watches.  And we’d like our time pieces to be worn like jewelry, match our outfits, and speak to our personal styles.

winsome watch

One of the first watches I put together for WinsomeWatches.com - hopefully for sale online soon!

For the website, I’m going for something classy, but not your usual jewelry store.  I’ve looked at Zappos and BlueNile and that’s just not the right look.  I’m thinking something a bit more fun and catchy – like 1saleaday.

If you’re a self-starter like me, you know the stubborn pull to do everything the hard way.  I’m determined not to use a template for my website.  I want to learn web design, even if that means my site will never launch.  To that end, the W3Schools website is becoming my bible.  But I’m always looking for new and helpful sites and blogs.

Today I stumbled upon YourInspirationWeb.  This site has fantastic guides and ideas.  I’m working my way through the css tutorials.  Maybe by the end of today I’ll be able to update this post with a picture of the framework for my future website!

Update:  Thanks to YourInspirationWeb, I’ve written up a ‘brief’ for my future web company.  Please take a look at the  Brief for WinsomeWatches – feedback is always welcome!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

